Gearing Up For the 132nd General Assembly

The 132nd General Assembly holds opening day activities Tuesday, January 3, 2017, with the swearing in of new House and Senate members. The new session brings a historic number of Republican seats in the House (66-33) and Senate (24-9) along with new leadership in both chambers.

Leading the Senate will be:

President Larry Obhof (Medina),

President Pro Tempore Bob Peterson (Sabina)

Majority Whip Gayle Manning (North Ridgeville)

Minority Leader Joe Schiavoni (Boardman)

Assistant Minority Leader Charleta Tavares (Columbus)

Minority Whip Edna Brown (Toledo)

Asst. Minority Whip Cecil Thomas (Cincinnati)


The House will be led by:

Speaker Cliff Rosenberger (Clarksville)

Speaker Pro Tempore Kirk Schuring (Canton)

Majority Floor Leader Dorothy Pelanda (Marysville)

Asst. Majority Floor Leader Sarah LaTourette (Bainbridge Twp)

Majority Whip Tom Patton (Strongsville)

Asst. Majority Whip Rob McColley (Napoleon)

Minority Leader Fred Strahorn (Dayton)

Asst. Minority Leader Nicholas Celebrezze (Parma)

Minority Whip Nickie Antonio (Lakewood)

Asst. Minority Whip Emilia Sykes

We expect a flurry of activity to begin the second week of January. Although committee assignments and meetings have yet to be announced publicly, both the House and Senate have scheduled session for Tuesday, January 11.