Statehouse Not The Final Act In These Political Careers

When Ohio voters enacted term limits on state lawmakers in 1992, prohibiting them from serving more than two consecutive, four-year terms in the Senate or four consecutive, two-year terms in the House, it has for sure resulted in more turnover in the Ohio General Assembly. But it hasn’t put an end to political ambition.

Many former state legislators choose to try to extend their political careers by running for other offices, including local offices. In fact, there were at least 14 former state representatives (interestingly, no former state senators!) on the ballot last night across Ohio. Here’s how they fared:

Democrat Ken Carano (’01-’07) was re-elected – and also the leading votegetter – among five candidates for two spots as an Austintown Township (Mahoning County) Trustee.

Republican Mike Gilb (’01-’06) was elected to the Mason City Council by just 52 votes, finishing fourth among six candidates for four seats.

Democrat Marc Guthrie (’83-’94) was the leading votegetter among four candidates in his bid to join the Licking County Educational Service Center board of education.

Republican John Hagan (’01-’08) lost his race for re-election as a Marlboro Township (Stark County) Trustee, finishing third among three candidates for two spots.

Democrat Joe Koziura (’85-’95, ’01-’10) was re-elected to the Lorain City Council, finishing third among four candidates for three at-large seats.

Democrat Tom Letson (’07-’14) ran unopposed for Warren Treasurer.

Democrat Johnnie Maier (’91-’99) was re-elected without opposition as Massillon Municipal Court Clerk.

Republican Todd McKenney (11 months in ’11) was elected to his first full-term as Barberton Municipal Court Judge, 71 percent – 29 percent.

Democrat Eugene Miller (who served from ‘07-’09) lost his Cleveland City Council Ward 10 comeback bid, 64 percent – 36 percent.

Republican Seth Morgan (’09-’10) was elected without opposition to be the next Huber Heights 3rd District City Councilman.

Democrat Tom Seese (’86-’94) was re-elected as a Coventry Township (Summit County) Trustee, finishing first among two candidates for two spots.

Democrat Dan Sferra (’01-’04) was re-elected to the Warren City Council, finishing third among four candidates for three at-large seats.

Republican Jim Trakas (’99-’06) was re-elected to the Independence City Council, finishing fourth out of eight candidates for seven at-large seats.

Democrat Roland Winburn (’09-’14) finished first among four candidates for two spots as a Harrison Township (Montgomery County) Trustee.

If we overlooked someone, Tweet us @probizpolitics & let us know!