Ohio House Open Seat Primaries

There are 31 open-seats up in the Ohio House this year. Below is a list of the races.

District 6-Marlene Anielski (R-Walton Hills)

Former Rep. Jim Trakas squares off with manufacturer Michael Canty in this open seat. Democrat Phil Robinson waits in the wings for the general election.

District 10-Bill Patmon (D-Cleveland)

Eight Democrats are running in the primary for the Patmon seat up in Cleveland. Terrence Upchurch is the party-preferred candidate. With no candidates filed, Republicans have conceded the seat.

District 12-John Barnes (D-Cleveland)

Democrat Juanita Brent is the party-preferred in another four-way primary. With no candidates filed, Republicans have conceded the seat.

District 13-Nickie Antonio (D-Lakewood)

Sen. Mike Skindell is looking to seat-swap with Rep. Nickie Antonio. Interestingly enough, neither of the incumbent candidates are running with the Cuyahoga County Democratic Party’s support.  Tom Bullock is the party preffered candidate. The winner will square off with Republican Jay. R. Carson in the general election.

District 14-Martin Sweeney (D-Cleveland)

Another four-way primary for the 14th House District. Rep. Sweeney is running for the Skindell seat against Rep. Antonio. He’s tapped his daughter to run for his Ohio House seat, Bride Rose Sweeney.

District 19-Anne Gonzales (R-Westerville)

Three Republicans are running for this Northeast Franklin County seat. HR Professional Tim Barhorst will face New Albany-Plain Twp. Trustee Dave Ferguson and Chris Curry in the Republican primary. House Democrats are high on Noni Banks and Mary Lightbody to make it a competitive general come November.

District 21-Mike Duffey (R-Worthington)

While Mike Duffey looks to #SavetheCrew, House Republicans want to make sure they save his seat due to his term-limited departure. Dublin School Board President Stu Harris faces Worthington Councilman Doug Smith on the Republican side with Attorney Mindy Yocum vs. Dr. Beth Liston for the Democrats.

District 24-Jim Hughes (R-Columbus)

Sad to see long-time legislator Rep. Jim Hughes hang it up in the General Assembly to run for Franklin County Judge. Rep. Hughes is one of the most prolific retail politicians in the game and his tireless campaigning ensured deciding victories for him over the past two decades.

To replace Rep. Hughes, former Upper Arlington City Councilman, Erik Yassenoff awaits the winner of a three-way Democrat primary. Andrea Bonny will face off with Mary Relotto, a business consultant from Clintonville.

District 26-Hearcel Craig (R-Columbus)

Rep. Craig is departing to run for Sen. Charleta Tavares’ open seat. Michael Cole and Erica Crawley face off in the Democrat primary. Republican Shareeq Arifa Sadiq and Green Party candidate Steve Dodge will run in the general.

District 33-Alicia Reece (D-Cincinnati)

Sedrick Denson and Judith Boyce are looking to replace Rep. Reece as the Democrat nominee. Write-in Republican Judith Boyce will meet the Democrat primary winner in the general election.

District 37-Kristina Roegner (R-Akron)

Three-way Republican primary for this seat between Stow Councilman Mike Rasor, Businessman Dexter Vaughn, and Craig Shubert. On the Democrat side, Casey Weinstein submitted bad petitions so his wife will run as a write-in candidate in the primary.

District 40-Mike Henne (R-Clayton)

Montgomery County Sheriff Phil Plummer will face the winner of the Democrat primary, which is Albert Griggs and Ryan Taylor

District 43-Jeffrey Rezabek  (R-Oakwood)

Clayton Councilman Kenneth Henning faces off with conservative Jeffrey T. Smith in the GOP Primary. This is  going to be a tough seat for Republicans to keep as Democrat Montgomery County Commissioner Dan Foley will contend for the general election.

District 44-Mike Ashford (D-Toledo)

Recently defeated Toledo Mayor Paula Hicks-Hudson to face Robert Worthington in the Democrat primary. Republican Kenneth Cousino awaits in the general.

District 50-Christina Hagan (R-Alliance)

Republican small business owner Reggie Stolzfus will take on Josh Hagan, brother of Rep. Christina Hagan while Cassie Gabelt faces Courtlen Vizzuso on the Democrat side.

District 56-Dan Ramos (D-Elyria)

Four-way Democrat primary here for Rep. Ramos’ seat. Mark Ballard II. Joe Miller, Claudia Olaes, and Cory Shawver will fight it out to take the seat. Republican Rob Weber will be the general election opponent in November.

District 59-John Boccieri (D-Alliance)

One-and-done Rep. Boccieri is looking to reclaim his old seat in the Ohio Senate. In the Democrat Primary, healthcare CEO Larry Moliterno will face off with educator and non-profit executive Eric Ungaro. Don Manning a well-known Mahoning County Republican is hoping to catch lightning in a bottle come the general election.


District 61-Ron Young (R-Leroy)

On the Republican side, former Rep. Jamie Callender will square off with Willoughby Hills Councilman John Plecnik. Write-in candidate, Democrat Rick Walker will face the winner in the general election.

District 67-Andy Brenner (R-Powell)

Rep. Brenner and Sen. Jordan are looking to pull off a seat-swap up in Delaware County. Sen. Jordan will have to make it through a three-way Republican primary first. He will face former Powell Mayor Brian Lorenz and Delaware County court administrator Denise Martin. Democrat Cory Hoffman has a clean path to the general election.

District 75-Kathleen Clyde (D-Kent)

Democrat Randi Clites is the party endorsed candidate. Clites is a healthcare advocate and faces Denise Baba, and Alice Freitas in the Democrat primary. Republican Jim Lutz will be the general opponent.


District 80-Steve Huffman (R-Tipp City)

Rep. Huffman seeking the open Beagle seat has made way for a crowded four-primary between George Lovett, Miami GOP Chairman Bud O’Brien, Jenna Powell, and J.D. Winteregg. Write-in Democrat Scott Zimmerman will be the general opponent.

District 83-Robert Sprague (R-Findlay)

Former Nurse Cheryl Buckland of Findlay faces off with chamber of commerce executive and businessman Jon Cross.

District 84-Keith Faber (R-Celina)

With Rep. Faber seeking statewide office after one-term, another primary has been created in West Central Ohio. Faber’s nephew Travis, an area attorney seeks the seat along with Susan Manchester, a non-profit executive, and agricultural educator Aaron Heilers. Democrat Joe Monbeck will be the general election opponent.

District 86-Dorothy Pelanda (R-Marysville)

Marysville Councilwoman and veteran Tracy Richardson faces Robert Sammons in the Republican primary. Democrat Glen Coble will be the general election opponent.

District 90-Terry Johnson (R-McDermott)

Crowded field all around for Rep. Johnson’s seat. Brian Baldridge, Gina Collinsworth, Justin Pizzuli, and Scottie P. Powell will meet in a four-way Republican primary. Adrienne D. Buckler and Joni Fearing will meet in the Democrat primary.

District 91-Cliff Rosenberger (R-Clarksville)

Republicans Beth Ellis and Shane Wilken square off in the primary to replace term-limited Speaker Cliff Rosenberger. Democrat Justin Grimes will be the general election opponent.

District 98-Al Landis (R-Dover)

Landslide Landis is term-limited. After winning the seat by six votes in 2012, Democrats are targeting this Northeast Ohio seat as a pick-up now that it is open. Democrat Jeremiah Johnson awaits the winner of a five-way Republican primary between Mark Behrendt, Shane Gunnoe, Larry Hawthorne, Brett Hillyer and Greg Hess.