Candidates with General Assembly Ties Perform Well

Yesterday was an eventful Election Day across the state of Ohio. Several of the candidates around the state have either served in the General Assembly, or are possibly going to serve in the future. Also, one current member of the GA was on the ballot as well. Here is a quick rundown of some of the interesting results I’ve run across.

  • As far as performing well, I’ll start off with the one exception – current Rep. Zack Milkovich lost overwhelmingly in his bid for Barberton clerk of courts, only taking 30% of the vote. He was seeking to unseat incumbent Republican clerk Diana Stevenson.
  • Cincinnati City Councilman Charlie Winburn was the second leading vote-getter (out of 9) in his re-election race. He’s been rumored to be a possible Republican candidate to replace Sen. Eric Kearney in SD 9.
  • Republican Blue Ash City Councilman Rick Bryan ran unopposed to claim another term. He is running next year to replace Rep. Connie Pillich in HD 28.
  • Former state rep Amy Salerno, who served in the House from 1995 to 2002, was easily re-elected Franklin County Municipal Court judge with nearly 60% of the vote.
  • Kevin Coughlin was elected as Stow clerk of courts. He overcame challenges to his party status and narrowly defeated incumbent Diana Colavecchio in a three-way race. He formerly served in both the Ohio House and Senate.
  • Hamilton County Municipal Court Judge Tyrone Yates ran unopposed and will serve another term on the court. He is a former member of the Ohio House.
  • Despite lacking an endorsement from the local Democrat Party, former state representative and Toledo mayorJack Ford easily won a seat on the Toledo City Council.
  • Winning re-election as Columbus City Attorney without opposition was former Rep. Rick Pfeiffer.
  • Former Chamber Choice candidate Chris Galloway was re-elected to the Concord Township (Lake County) Board of Trustees.
  • Former Rep. Ken Carano won his bid for election to the Austintown Township (Mahoning County) Board of Trustees.
  • Former Rep. Joe Koziura, who served two stints in the Ohio House and is a former mayor of Lorain, captured one of three at-large seats on Lorain City Council.
  • Returning to serve as Sandusky City commissioner after leading a field of seven candidates is two-term former Rep. Dennis Murray, who retired last year from the Ohio House.
  • Former Senate President Dick Finan made a successful return to public office, winning his bid for Evendale Village Council. Does it surprise anyone he was the top votegetter?
  • Former Rep. Ann Womer-Benjamin also made a triumphant return to politics, winning election as Aurora mayor in a six-way contest.
  • In a battle that featured two former state legislators, ex-Sen. Jeff Johnson defeated ex-Rep. Eugene Miller to capture the Ward 10 seat on Cleveland City Council. Both were council incumbents whose districts were merged together to form a new ward.


Posted in Uncategorized